Programme description
Types of fellowships
Admission requirements
Application procedure
Who are we?

Types of fellowships

There are two different types of fellowships awarded to the doctoral candidate.

Category A fellowships is awarded to third-country doctoral candidates who come from a country other than a European country (you find below the link to the Programme Guide for the list of "European countries" on page 14) and who are not residents nor have carried out their main activity (studies, work, etc.) for more than a total of 12 months over the last five years in these countries. The five-year reference period for this 12-month rule is calculated backwards as from the submission deadline for Category A applications by the EM consortia to the Agency (i.e. end of next February). The only exception to this rule applies to third-country doctoral candidates who have previously received an Erasmus Mundus masters scholarship in order to follow an EMMC.

Category B fellowships is awarded to European doctoral candidates (which include all 28 Members State of the European Union, Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Croatia, Turkey and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia) as well as to any doctoral candidates who do not fulfil the Category A criteria defined above.

Candidates holding an Erasmus Mundus fellowship must perform their training/research periods in at least two European countries represented in the consortium; for Category B fellowship holders, two of the countries visited during the EMJD activities must be different from the country in which the doctoral candidate has obtained his/her last university degree.

Both fellowships will cover a fully funded three year programme (including all fees) and guarantees the candidates a net salary of at least € 1.400 per month including social security and a pension plan.
A lump sum mobility contingency of € 7.500 is awarded to non-EU candidates.

The fellowships are awarded exclusively for full-time enrolment in one of the doctoral programmes. Individuals who have already benefited from an EMJD fellowship are not eligible for a second grant. Doctoral candidates benefiting from an EMJD fellowship cannot benefit from other EU grants while carrying out their Erasmus Mundus doctoral activities.

For more information about eligibility criteria for Fellowships funded by the European Union, see the latest version of the Erasmus Mundus Programme Guide

Candidates data may be used for the purpose of elaluating the programmes, efficiently manage the projects, and producing statistics. Data could be made available to the EACEA, The European Commission, the European External Action Service staff, as well as to other stakeholders of the Erasmus+ programme, such as Erasmus+ National Agencies, National Erasmus+ Offices and the Erasmus Mundus Student and Alumni Association.

The House of Legal Psychology Erasmus MundusUniversity of PortsmouthGoeteborg UniversityMaastricht University